Cappoquin Community Centre Cappoquin Community Centre
Cappoquin Community Centre Cappoquin Community Centre
Cappoquin Community Centre Cappoquin Community Centre

Cappoquin Community Development Company

Cappoquin Community Development Company CLG was established in 1993. The Company has had many achievements to date and a full list of these achievements can be seen by clicking on Achievements on the Home page. The most significant achievement of the Company has been the construction of Cappoquin Community Centre at a cost of €3.2M. This is the largest construction ever undertaken in Cappoquin and it is the largest development by a Community group in Co Waterford. The Company also purchased 6 acres of land adjoining the town on which 27 private dwellings have now been constructed. The Company also owns 6 small industrial starter units in the IDA Industrial Estate at Carrigeen, Cappoquin which are leased to local entrepreneurs. In 2008 Cappoquin Community Centre hosted the All Ireland Pride of Place awards ceremony which was attended by President Mary McAleese.

The Mission and Values Statements of the Company are as follows:

Mission Statement:
“To provide social and economic benefit to the local community through the sustainable and efficient management of the assets of a self-financing Cappoquin Community Development Company Ltd. To work for the development, upgrading and regeneration of Cappoquin’s built fabric and environment”

Values statement:
“As a voluntary Community Development Company, we strive to improve the quality of life for all the people of the locality. We aim to achieve this with a spirit of honesty, integrity, openness, transparency and trust. We aim to create an environment of respect and dignity within the company, with our workforce and with the general public. Our company will value all its customers and patrons and its relationship with these.”

The Company has 4 Directors and is managed by a Management Committee of 14 volunteers which includes the 4 Directors. Reporting to the Management Committee are 4 sub-committees, namely, Finance, Hall and Gym, Childcare and Projects. The Management Committee meets on the second Wednesday of each month and the sub-committees report at these meetings. The Directors and members of the Management Committee and members of the sub-committees are elected annually at the Company’s AGM. Annual reports and independently audited Financial reports are presented at each AGM.

The Company has 4 Directors and a Management Committee of 14 members all of whom are voluntary. The Management Committee meets each month on the second Wednesday of that month.

The current members of the Management Committee are Dr Ben Murphy, Chairperson, Mr Tom Feerick, Mr Ollie Wilkinson, Mr Denis McCarthy, Mr John Flynn, Mr David Keane, Ms Marian Looby, Ms Helen Looby, Mr John McGrath, Ms Orla Nicholson, Mr Anthony Prendergast, Ms Maura Purcell, Mr Aidan Walsh and Mr Joe White.

Contact Details

Cappoquin Community Centre
Twig Bog,
Cappoquin, Co. Waterford,
P51 E2NV,

Phone: +353(58)52746

Social Media

Our Location