Cappoquin Community Development Ltd

Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 2nd July 2014

The 2014 Annual General Meeting of Cappoquin Community Development Company and Cappoquin Community Centre was held on Wednesday 2nd July 2014.

Present: Ben Murphy, Acting Chairperson, John Flynn, David Keane, Tom Feerick, Anthony Prendergast, Orla Nicholson, John McGrath, Denis McCarthy and Cathy McGrath.

Apologies: Ollie Wilkinson, Marion Looby, Maura Purcell and Joe White.

The Chairman declared the meeting open and welcomed everyone to the AGM.

The **minutes** of the 2013 AGM were adopted on the proposal of D Keane and seconded by T Feerick.

The **Auditors Reports** were then discussed. Concern was expressed in respect of the continuing annual drop in operating balance from €60k in 2011 to €30k in 2012 and to €5k in 2013. This coincided with income reductions in each of the 3 years. If this trend continued the Company would be out of money in 2015. Corrective action is immediately required. A greater analysis of expenditure is required in conjunction with the generation of ideas to increase income. The process of expenditure analysis has already begun with the appointment of a person one day per week for this purpose.

It was agreed that a thorough review of income and expenditure would be carried out at end of September next prior to taking any further corrective action.

The Audited Accounts of Cappoquin Community Development Company Ltd and Cappoquin Community Centre Ltd were adopted on the proposal of O Nicholson and seconded by D Keane.

The **Annual Report** of the Companies for 2013 was read by D McCarthy. This outlined the various activities which occurred during the year, with references to assisting agencies and bodies, the commitment of the voluntary members, the important role played by the Company in the local economy and the corresponding parts played by all our employees.

This report was adopted on the proposal of J McGrath and seconded by T Feerick.

The Chairman in his **address** thanked all members and staff for their input during the year. He stated that we had achieved much but much was remaining to be done. He referred to the financial position while currently satisfactory could become critical if the required corrective action is not taken. He asked that income be maximised and expenditure be curtailed to the minimum required. He also stated that due to time and financial constraints, no projects were currently being carried out but that issues such as dereliction and vacancy in the town needed to be addressed as a matter of urgency.

He expressed his sincere thanks on behalf of the members of the Company to the outgoing Chairman Ollie Wilkinson for his stewardship of the Company over the last 21 years and his extraordinary input over that time. He also secured significant capital grants towards the construction of this Centre and and the members and indeed the entire local community will be forever indebted to him for his input.

Election of Officers:

Ben Murphy elected Chairman on the proposal of D McCarthy, seconded by J McGrath.

David Keane elected Vice Chairperson on the proposal of T Feerick, seconded by O Nicholson.

Denis McCarthy elected Secretary on proposal of O Nicholson, seconded by J McGrath.

Joe White elected Recording Secretary on proposal of A Prendergast, seconded by B Murphy.

Tom Feerick elected **Treasurer** on proposal of O Nicholson, seconded by A Prendergast.

Cathy McGrath appointed PRO on proposal of B Murphy, seconded by D Keane.

On the proposal of B Murphy and seconding of T Feerick the following were appointed as additional members of the Governing Body:

Ollie Wilkinson, John Flynn, Maura Purcell, John McGrath, Marian Looby, Anthony Prendergast, Orla Nicholson, Aidan Walsh, Tom Kelleher, Padraig Nolan and Sr de Lourdes.

On the proposal of B Murphy and seconding of A Prendergast it was decided to retain the current 4 Committees.

The following were elected to the **Finance Committee** on proposal of O Nicholson, seconded by J McGrath: **T Feerick**, **J Flynn**, **D Keane and manager**.

The following were elected to the **Childcare Committee** on the proposal of J Flynn, seconded by D Keane: **O Nicholson, M Looby, manager and representative of childcare supervisors.**

The following were elected to the **Community Centre Committee** on the proposal of O Nicholson, seconded by D McCarthy: **A Prendergast**, **M Purcell**, **J White**, **J McGrath**, **A Walsh**, **E Prendergast**, **P Hallissey**, C **Prendergast**, **P Nolan and manager**.

The following were elected to the **Projects Committee** on the proposal of J McGrath, seconded by by A Prendergast: **O Wilkinson, B Murphy, D Keane and D McCarthy.**

Other Issues:

It was suggested that we hold a function to recognise the various volunteers who have assisted the Company in any way.

The July meeting of the Governing Body will be held on 24th July.

The Company is to address the issue of local employment and other pertinent issues with local councillors early in Autumn.

The Company is to consider recognition of its 21 years in existence.

Events in Centre for Spring 2015 to be agreed by September 2014.

Manager gave details of JobBridge person being employed in childcare facility. The Childcare Committee to asses any possible savings from this appointment and any impacts on existing staff.

The Chairperson then formally closed the meeting.

Proposed:	-
Seconded:	
Chairperson:	
Date:	